Nest Hello vs Ring Video Pro

Get your nerd on.
59yukon01
1.21 gigawatts?!
Name: David

Post by 59yukon01 » Mon Dec 02, 2019 12:20 pm

Probably will be getting one or the other soon as my wife wants the extra security. I'll hardwire to the existing chime we have.

Any pros/cons of either appreciated. Obviously either will be better than the nothing we have, but wanted to hear from any real life experiences here.

hoppyjr
HJ
Name: Hoppy

Re: Nest Hello vs Ring Video Pro

Post by hoppyjr » Mon Dec 02, 2019 12:26 pm

There have been some recent privacy concerns over the Ring product. Might want to do some reading on that.

Torrid
Name: Heath

Post by Torrid » Mon Dec 02, 2019 12:27 pm

Hardwiring is nice since you’ll never have to recharge the device. Unfortunately the house I’m in now had a wireless setup and any remaining wiring is hidden under the siding now. I’ve been using the Ring doorbell with two houses for going on 4 years now without a hiccup, just now I have to charge it every few weeks.

Chocodove
Name: Todd

Post by Chocodove » Mon Dec 02, 2019 12:27 pm

I’ve had a Ring Pro for about 9 months or so. No issues whatsoever (other than Amazon or whomever knowing my every movement). I quite like the “neighborhood” feature that shows you what’s going on around town. I’m sure Nest has something similar.

So, that probably wasn’t very helpful :). But I can’t imagine not having one now.
- Todd

nweash
Name: Nick

Post by nweash » Mon Dec 02, 2019 12:41 pm

Amazon vs Google.

I love my two nest cameras though. The app is super easy to navigate and the live scrubbing I couldn’t live without. It shows gray markings for motion and yellow if it detects people.

If ring does all that I guess just choose the better deal.

matt.wu
Wu
Name: m@

Post by matt.wu » Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:16 pm