Spring Drive Tuna SBDB009

Discussion of Seiko watches
jswing
Founder, TDWC MM300 Fan Club
Name: Jeff

Spring Drive Tuna SBDB009

Post by jswing » Sun Mar 29, 2015 6:57 am

My Spring Drive Tuna arrived yesterday, and I thought it deserved a post. First off, this watch is amazing. When I opened up the box, I was blown away. This is one of those times I wish I was a better photographer, because I won't be able to give any justice with my pics. First thing I noticed was the finishing. It's sublime. Grand Seiko level I think. The brushed finish on the titanium shroud is unmatched by anything even remotely close to it's price range that I've seen. Then I tried the bezel and crown - two things that aren't always the smoothest on Seikos, but not so here. The bezel is likely the smoothest I've ever operated, yet the clicks are firm. The crown is usually something I dislike on Seikos, it's usually difficult to engage the crown to screw it down. Again, not so here. Engages and screws down perfectly. Then the spring drive... I can't begin to try to explain the technology, but it's the smoothest running movement I've ever felt. The second hand doesn't really sweep, it glides. There's no stutter. At all. It's mesmerizing.