New here and Vintage Mares Dive Watch

A place to discuss vintage watches.
TernGully
Name: Devin

New here and Vintage Mares Dive Watch

Post by TernGully » Thu Dec 07, 2017 7:02 pm

Hey all,

New here to the forum but I’ve lurked around for a while. I have been collecting watches for a few years and always really enjoyed the divers. My brother and I both collect them and get jealous of each other’s, etc.

I have a vintage diver that I picked up from a guy I know in Australia, he had it for a long time sitting in a box of old divers he had. I wish I knew more about it, but the watch was made by the Mares dive company and is class the “Oceano”. It has an automatic ETA 2824-2 movement in it and has a *Dixi case(*i have heard people mention dixi cases, but I’ve never found much history about them)

I know other brands like gruen, zodiac, nivada grenchen, and dugena all used Dixi cases. This one is rated to 30atm and really is an awesome vintage diver. If anyone knows more about it feel free to share! I’ve never seen another like it except for a dugena once that did use the same case and hands as this one.

Nice to meet you all! Link to pics is below

https://imgur.com/a/7qpH2

Heuerville
Name: Stewart

Re: New here and Vintage Mares Dive Watch

Post by Heuerville » Thu Dec 07, 2017 7:26 pm

Hi Devin
Welcome to DWC. That's a nice little pick up, seems to come from an era where there were countless unusually named Swiss dive watches, so I can't offer any specific history on the brand. The type of handset was also common, and can't really be pinned down to a specific brand.
I've never heard of 'Dixi' cases. To me, I'd call it a cushion hooded lug case, which was common in the 70s.
Stewart - Heuerville & Heuerville Straps
http://heuerville.wordpress.com/heuerville-straps/
"SOB get me a drink"

TernGully

Post by TernGully » Fri Dec 08, 2017 6:47 am

Hey Stewart,