Any PlayStation experts?

Get your nerd on.
CGSshorty
Admin

Any PlayStation experts?

Post by CGSshorty » Sat Feb 18, 2017 12:10 am

My son's PS4 has been acting wonky since we moved. I cannot access the store and it is giving me a hard time getting it to connect to the network over Wi-Fi, even though the signal is strong. Using a LAN cable is not an option.
I'm about to throw the thing out the window.
"It's such a fine line between stupid, and clever."
David St. Hubbins

Terpits
Creepy Tudor Guy
Name: Peter

Re: Any PlayStation experts?

Post by Terpits » Sat Feb 18, 2017 4:27 am

I'm not an expert, but they go down more than didub does.

:rimshot:

foodle

Post by foodle » Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:02 am

Have you changed anything about your internet setup? New service provider? New router? New cable modem? Switch to Fios?

Most likely the issue is that you are using a new router and the ports needed for the PS4 to access the store are being blocked. Other things that can go wonky are other PSN services like chat, party joining, or some games may not connect to multiplayer properly. You can fix this by digging into the guts of your router and forwarding the correct ports to the PS4. Would probably have to set the PS4 to a static IP also, but that's just a small change to the router config setup.

Not being able to connect to the WiFi even with a strong signal strength though would be indicative of a different problem, since that only deals with your local network. Could be an interference issue if you are running a 2.4GHz network, as lots of other stuff (cordless phones, microwaves, etc.) generate noise/interference at those frequencies. Might even be coming from a neighbor's house.