AEgir Tubes?

Discussion of Ægir watches.
Post Reply
User avatar
manitoujoe
Posts: 2903
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:37 pm
Name: Mark
Location: Louisville, KY

AEgir Tubes?

Post by manitoujoe » Thu May 03, 2018 6:22 pm

Has anyone bought tubes for straps that live on their CD-2s? I’ve got a olive canvas that I cannot line the screw bar correctly on. I figured if there was nowhere to go, I’d have an easier time.

I ordered some from Panatime but they were too narrow. The bars are 2mm. Hoping someone has a good source. Thanks in advance!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Some people just have a way with words, and other people … oh … not have way.

Steve Martin

User avatar
hoppyjr
HJ
Posts: 30203
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:05 am
Name: Hoppy
Location: Washington State

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by hoppyjr » Thu May 03, 2018 6:44 pm

I didn’t on the Aegir, but I had a similar problem with a different watch (and I don’t remember which one lol!). The solution was H2O tubes.

User avatar
manitoujoe
Posts: 2903
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:37 pm
Name: Mark
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by manitoujoe » Thu May 03, 2018 6:46 pm

You are awesome. Thank you! Hopefully they sell them separately.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Some people just have a way with words, and other people … oh … not have way.

Steve Martin

User avatar
toxicavenger
President Tranny
Posts: 40814
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:25 am
Name: HeadDIK
Location: Colorado Springs

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by toxicavenger » Thu May 03, 2018 6:57 pm

I used a paper clip to line it up

User avatar
tattoo chef
<Will Skull for Food>
Posts: 4369
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 8:03 pm
Name: Don

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by tattoo chef » Thu May 03, 2018 7:11 pm

toxicavenger wrote:I used a paper clip to line it up
I am being dense for sure, but what are we talking about lining up?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
toxicavenger
President Tranny
Posts: 40814
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:25 am
Name: HeadDIK
Location: Colorado Springs

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by toxicavenger » Thu May 03, 2018 7:19 pm

tattoo chef wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 7:11 pm
toxicavenger wrote:I used a paper clip to line it up
I am being dense for sure, but what are we talking about lining up?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The tube holes in the case to the screw bars. That way you can screw the ends in easier. I think Kobold use to make a tool for this if I recall.

User avatar
tattoo chef
<Will Skull for Food>
Posts: 4369
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 8:03 pm
Name: Don

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by tattoo chef » Thu May 03, 2018 7:21 pm

toxicavenger wrote:
tattoo chef wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 7:11 pm
toxicavenger wrote:I used a paper clip to line it up
I am being dense for sure, but what are we talking about lining up?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The tube holes in the case to the screw bars. That way you can screw the ends in easier. I think Kobold use to make a tool for this if I recall.
I’ve never run into this issue, ever.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
toxicavenger
President Tranny
Posts: 40814
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:25 am
Name: HeadDIK
Location: Colorado Springs

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by toxicavenger » Thu May 03, 2018 7:24 pm

tattoo chef wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 7:21 pm
toxicavenger wrote:
tattoo chef wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 7:11 pm
toxicavenger wrote:I used a paper clip to line it up
I am being dense for sure, but what are we talking about lining up?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The tube holes in the case to the screw bars. That way you can screw the ends in easier. I think Kobold use to make a tool for this if I recall.
I’ve never run into this issue, ever.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sometimes on a thicker strap you can't push the screw bar all the way through it and have it line up to the hole on the case. I personally have moved the strap around to line it up or just use the end of a paper clip.

User avatar
Jeep99dad
Grand-père
Posts: 24855
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:07 am
Name: Brice
Location: FlipVille, SC

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by Jeep99dad » Thu May 03, 2018 8:07 pm

tattoo chef wrote:
toxicavenger wrote:
tattoo chef wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 7:11 pm
toxicavenger wrote:I used a paper clip to line it up
I am being dense for sure, but what are we talking about lining up?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The tube holes in the case to the screw bars. That way you can screw the ends in easier. I think Kobold use to make a tool for this if I recall.
I’ve never run into this issue, ever.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Me neither Image
Merde Alors! Et Vive Les Francais! :)

User avatar
toxicavenger
President Tranny
Posts: 40814
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:25 am
Name: HeadDIK
Location: Colorado Springs

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by toxicavenger » Thu May 03, 2018 8:10 pm

Jeep99dad wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 8:07 pm
tattoo chef wrote:
toxicavenger wrote:
tattoo chef wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 7:11 pm
toxicavenger wrote:I used a paper clip to line it up
I am being dense for sure, but what are we talking about lining up?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The tube holes in the case to the screw bars. That way you can screw the ends in easier. I think Kobold use to make a tool for this if I recall.
I’ve never run into this issue, ever.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Me neither Image
So the screw bars just automatically went into the lug holes on the other side?

User avatar
Jeep99dad
Grand-père
Posts: 24855
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:07 am
Name: Brice
Location: FlipVille, SC

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by Jeep99dad » Thu May 03, 2018 9:17 pm

toxicavenger wrote:
Jeep99dad wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 8:07 pm
tattoo chef wrote:
toxicavenger wrote:
tattoo chef wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 7:11 pm
toxicavenger wrote:I used a paper clip to line it up
I am being dense for sure, but what are we talking about lining up?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The tube holes in the case to the screw bars. That way you can screw the ends in easier. I think Kobold use to make a tool for this if I recall.
I’ve never run into this issue, ever.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Me neither Image
So the screw bars just automatically went into the lug holes on the other side?
Pretty much or with just a little guidance. I mean nothing crazy.
Merde Alors! Et Vive Les Francais! :)

User avatar
toxicavenger
President Tranny
Posts: 40814
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:25 am
Name: HeadDIK
Location: Colorado Springs

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by toxicavenger » Thu May 03, 2018 9:22 pm

Jeep99dad wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 9:17 pm
toxicavenger wrote:
Jeep99dad wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 8:07 pm
tattoo chef wrote:
toxicavenger wrote:
tattoo chef wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 7:11 pm
toxicavenger wrote:I used a paper clip to line it up
I am being dense for sure, but what are we talking about lining up?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The tube holes in the case to the screw bars. That way you can screw the ends in easier. I think Kobold use to make a tool for this if I recall.
I’ve never run into this issue, ever.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Me neither Image
So the screw bars just automatically went into the lug holes on the other side?
Pretty much or with just a little guidance. I mean nothing crazy.
Yep same here. I used a paper clip for the guidance. Or I pushed the strap around to guide it.

User avatar
Ryeguy
Posts: 2637
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 1:03 pm
Name: Chris
Location: Rye

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by Ryeguy » Fri May 04, 2018 3:56 am

FWIW, I think having tubes in softer material straps is just a good idea from a general practice perspective. I've noticed Seiko has started adding tubes to their new generation rubber straps (the ones that feel softer, almost silicone-like, such as the model included with the SLA017 and SBDC053).

Obviously, only use tubes on watches with drilled lugs.

User avatar
manitoujoe
Posts: 2903
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:37 pm
Name: Mark
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by manitoujoe » Fri May 04, 2018 4:47 am

It’s only been an issue on this one canvas strap. I spent an hour patiently trying to guide the screwbar into the hole. I have no idea if it’s a thickness thing or what.

Just trying to find an easy solution. I’ll try the paper clip idea.
Some people just have a way with words, and other people … oh … not have way.

Steve Martin

User avatar
Axelay2003
Posts: 5078
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 9:03 am
Name: Gerard
Location: City of Oranges, FL

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by Axelay2003 » Fri May 04, 2018 5:13 am

manitoujoe wrote:
Fri May 04, 2018 4:47 am
It’s only been an issue on this one canvas strap. I spent an hour patiently trying to guide the screwbar into the hole. I have no idea if it’s a thickness thing or what.

Just trying to find an easy solution. I’ll try the paper clip idea.
Too thick.
It's a beautiful world! Gerald.
ImageImage

User avatar
ericf4
(TBD) Penis
Posts: 13557
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 6:04 am
Contact:

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by ericf4 » Fri May 04, 2018 7:33 am

2 screwdrivers....its always the answer....call Wjean

User avatar
manitoujoe
Posts: 2903
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:37 pm
Name: Mark
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by manitoujoe » Fri May 04, 2018 7:18 pm

It’s a single-end threaded screwbar so only 1 screwdriver needed. No luck guiding the bar. :(

I’m at a loss. There has to be a way.
Some people just have a way with words, and other people … oh … not have way.

Steve Martin

User avatar
tattoo chef
<Will Skull for Food>
Posts: 4369
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 8:03 pm
Name: Don

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by tattoo chef » Fri May 04, 2018 8:12 pm

manitoujoe wrote:It’s a single-end threaded screwbar so only 1 screwdriver needed. No luck guiding the bar. :(

I’m at a loss. There has to be a way.
I honestly have never encountered this issue. Is the strap hitting the inside of the lugs so much that it’s just too thick and not enough clearance? I mean, the Ægir comes on an isofrane, so how thick is this strap?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
hoppyjr
HJ
Posts: 30203
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:05 am
Name: Hoppy
Location: Washington State

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by hoppyjr » Fri May 04, 2018 8:14 pm

If the strap is that thick a tube won’t help.

User avatar
manitoujoe
Posts: 2903
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:37 pm
Name: Mark
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by manitoujoe » Fri May 04, 2018 8:17 pm

I can’t imagine it’s too thick. It’s a normal canvas strap. Not sure who made it. I think something on the inside of the strap is nudging it just out of sync with the hole.

When I try other straps, it kind of sinks into the threaded hole and all is good. With this one, it just never does.

I’m getting so frustrated I’m probably going to sell the strap. Not the AEgir’s fault. Lol


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Some people just have a way with words, and other people … oh … not have way.

Steve Martin

User avatar
CGSshorty
Admin
Posts: 30439
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:18 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Re: AEgir Tubes?

Post by CGSshorty » Sat May 05, 2018 7:11 am

The CD-2 is a pain in the ass for straps. I never take mine off the Isofrane.
"It's such a fine line between stupid, and clever."
David St. Hubbins

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest