Rolex help

Discussion of Rolex Watches.
Brimstone
Name: Eric

Rolex help

Post by Brimstone » Wed Jan 06, 2016 11:59 am

This watch is posted locally for sale. It's supposed to be from around 2007. What do you guys think? The engraved rehaut looked black and had me questioning it, but I think it may just be a shadow effect. I'm no Rolex expert, so I defer to you guys.

JDC222
Demander of Intro Threads
Name: Dave

Re: Rolex help

Post by JDC222 » Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:02 pm

I'm no expert but that's not black...
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1452110520.202425.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Whisky has killed more men than bullets, but most men would rather be full of whisky than bullets.
Winston Churchill.

JBZ
Mr. Tasseled Loafer
Name: Jeff

Post by JBZ » Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:16 pm

Hard to really tell without more pics, but I don't see anything that immediately leaps out at me as evidence of a fake (I think the "black" effect on the rehaut is a reflection or shadow off the dial, like you say). What's the seller asking? Would he be willing to go to a Rolex AD or watchmaker with you to confirm authenticity? Box and papers?

The crown looks a little beat up.

foodle

Post by foodle » Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:33 pm

I can see the rehaut engraving on my screen in the pic.

Does it have papers, box, service history, etc.? What serial number series?

Lugs don't look over polished, but it's hard to say for sure from one pic.

Opening up the back to look at the movement will weed out some of the fakes also, but then you need to replace the gasket and re-test for water resistance. You'll notice that all of the web vintage Rolex sellers always have a pic of the movement as some kind of assurance of authenticity.

Brimstone

Post by Brimstone » Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:36 pm