Casio Wave-Ceptor Tough Solar WVA-320J

Watch review archives can be found here.
BA1970

Casio Wave-Ceptor Tough Solar WVA-320J

Post by BA1970 » Sat Sep 18, 2010 3:14 pm

This is a brief review of my Casio WVA-320J. It is solar powered (Tough Solar) and receives frequent time synchronization signals from the National Institute of Standard and Technology's atomic clock in Fort Collins, Colorado. Hence the term "Wave Ceptor".

MSRP $240.

Personal background: I have owned many watches along the "watch scale" from Rolex to Timex. Watches are not new to me. However, I am not an expert. Additionally, I am not affiliated with any watch company or watch retailer, web site, forum, organization or group that would benefit from a review of this or any watch on either this forum, or any other forum, web site, or venue.

The Watch: As far as Casios go, they are typically not my choice of watch. I've had a few solar/atomic G-Shocks, such as, the Riseman, and the 5600. I have also owned a few other "straight quartz" Casios with the metal case (ana-dig) modules back in the late eighties.

Recently, I have had this urge for a Casio atomic/solar. I chose this model because of its looks and functions, and the lack of rubber. I am not a big fan of rubber watches, plastic watches, black in color watches, or anything else that isn't stainless steel.

This model is, to some degree, a little "finer", or should I say, better finished, compared to the AMW 320 series. http://www.casio.com/products/Timepiece ... 20_Series/ The bezel appears to be better fitted to the case, and , in general, the overall quality of the watch is better. The words "Cased in China" appear on the case back (along with many other words).

Instruction Manual - Ease of Understanding: I'd rate this as "easy", yet full of information and details.
Link to pdf file of manual (4319 Module): http://waveceptor.casio.com/resource/ma ... e_4319.pdf

Packaging: The usual round tin with the charcoal grey foam, manuals, etc.