Flipping - how much do you loose?

Come on in and introduce yourself!
General watch talk.
rousp
Name: Kristian

Flipping - how much do you loose?

Post by rousp » Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:58 am

Hi again! Thanks to El presidente that pointet me in your direction. :thumbsup:
I'm sure my heart stopped beating for a while when I finally decided to take a break from my studying towards an exam and log onto y3. Only to realize that y3 was gone, wiped from the face of the earth... :crybaby:

But hey, your all here, so my world didn't end! :gift: :bananastoner:

Back to topic.

As I said I'm a student. And with that I don't have much cash laying around waiting to transform, magically, into a watch. That, combined with an ongoing case (more like a saga) with Swatch norway, has reduced my watch interest to an all time low..

So now I'm looking down two different routes. (Three if you count stop collecting, but that isn't an option)

Either I start looking into more affordable watches like Seiko and stuff..
Or I continue drooling on swiss watches, buy one, flip it, get a new etc. Constantly getting new watches as I sell the previous. That way keeping the cash bound up constant.

And now, my question, it's a brutal one.

How much cash does you flippers loose on each watch you flip?

I know that you rather don't think on that, but for me it is essential... I simply can't afford to flip watches if I am to loose cash on each and every one...

-Rousp
-Kristian

Savings - feel better on the wrist than in the bank.

matt.wu
Wu
Name: m@

Re: Flipping - how much do you loose?

Post by matt.wu » Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:09 am

If you're prudent about the initial purchase, meaning that you take resale value into consideration before purchasing a watch, you can avoid losing too much money on the flip. Additionally, you've got to be a bit more careful about how you wear the watch. If you beat it up, you're going to get hosed on resale.